To Kill a Mockingbird, was a great book and a great film

I adored the book To Kill a Mockingbird. I read it when I was a young girl and fell in love with it. The way the book makes you feel as if your there in this tiny southern town, it's hot and the kids, Scout and Jem are on holiday. I loved their fights and the way they loved each other and their father. I loved Atticus and wished he was my father, he was intellegent and had time for his children, unlike my father who was my bogeyman. I remember being so sad and scared for the black people in America, and elated that this man made me feel that there were white people who cared and did not all act like the poor white trash that made the accusations of rape against the crippled black man Tom Robinson.

It reminds me of my childhood, not in America, but in London.

we were always out playing and meeting new friends.

One day I was at home I was quite young and the film came on. I was hooked.

Gregory Peck as Atticus Finch, was the right choice. He was who I saw in my head when I read the book. Every part of that film fitted the book.

The empty streets of a quiet town. When we were children in london, before all the shops stayed open 24 hours, every shop would be shut very early,if they opened at all, on a sunday, so it had that same feel of being deserted. People would be in watching the Sunday afternoon film on TV before teatime, snoozing, or if you had cars you would go out for a sunday afternoon drive. All children were kicked out of the house to play. we would explore the old abandoned houses and the old bomb sites. the war had been over for 20 years but there were still parts of London that had gaps, like missing teeth. Great Book, Great film

Powered by Plinky

Leave a Reply

